Keep my head high!!

15 Jul

Sorry guys…I haven’t posted in like two days. I want to try and post every day but these last few days were craaazy! So On Tuesday I went to a new Doc to check my issues with my health and thyroid. I just did a fitness competition in March and every since that competition I haven’t been the same. I really put a lot of wear and tear on my body for that show. I was going to do a National show in Las Vegas on July 31st but I can’t because of my health issues. See my blog here on my journey leading up to the show.

 So anyway..that blog  is from my sponsors website and just goes over my contest prep and how my body wasn’t responding to anything!! I added more cardio and less calories and my weight and body fat wouldn’t budge! Soooo that’s how I knew something wasn’t right. For the past few months we (me and my nutritionist) have played with some things, I took a week of working out, a week off my diet, added clean fats and calories into my diet, dropped cardio to only 20 mins, didn’t train as hard, went vegetarian for a week, played with some supplements and vitamins (I was anemic so I had to do a copper chelating process) ..hell you name it I tried it. I am still having issues, I feel better now than I did a few months ago but there are still some things out of whack!!! So this doc said something is up for sure!!! Since I am still on pretty low calories and working my butt off in the gym and my body isn’t losing any fat. I had to get a bunch of blood work done, testing all sorts of things from my thyroid levels, reverse thyroid, cortosol, adrenal glands, testosterone, estrogen and a few other things. I hope something shows up on the test so I can get fixed…it is sooo frustrating!

Wish me luck, let’s hope I don’t check myself into a mental institution JK

10 Responses to “Keep my head high!!”

  1. dmcgirl37 July 15, 2010 at 2:11 pm #

    SOrry to hear things arent going well for you. Are you sure you are eating enough? I know in the past when ive been on low calories and exercising my weight didnt budge. Then I upped my calories and I started losing..just a thought!

    Dana xo
    http://happinessiswithin.wordpress.com/

  2. dmcgirl37 July 15, 2010 at 2:11 pm #

    SOrry to hear things arent going well for you. Are you sure you are eating enough? I know in the past when ive been on low calories and exercising my weight didnt budge. Then I upped my calories and I started losing..just a thought!

    Dana xo

    • bubblegumgymkat July 15, 2010 at 2:17 pm #

      yeah my nutritionist added more calories..we were up to about 2200 and I started to gain bodyfat so we dropped them back down..we have played with so many different calorie ranges and cardio..nothing has seemed to help.

  3. S @ extremebalance.net/blog July 15, 2010 at 2:36 pm #

    Boo! The thyroid is such a tricky devil… having been down that road myself, you definitely have my sympathy. Thanks for stopping by my blog–I look forward to reading more in yours!

    • bubblegumgymkat July 16, 2010 at 12:43 pm #

      Thanks girl..stupid thyroid!! LOL It will just take time, I know it will get better..I am just so impatient!

  4. DiningAndDishing July 15, 2010 at 3:30 pm #

    oh man, that sounds frustrating!! you’re working so hard too. i hope you sort things out soon :).

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  5. april July 15, 2010 at 4:11 pm #

    Oh how frustrating!! I’m thinking of you!

  6. Laury @thefitnessdish July 16, 2010 at 3:33 am #

    Yikes!!! I am sosorry to hear you are going through all these health issues with your hormones!! It’s tough when you are passionate about something, yet it puts so much wear and tear on your body…I hope you get it figured out soon….rooting for yah!!! Hugs! xo

  7. edenseats July 16, 2010 at 8:26 am #

    I’m sorry to hear that. The good news is, if it is a thyroid issue, its easily fixable. I had issues with my liver and thyroid too and if the test come out that indeed its low, its super simple to treat. hand in there and as dmc suggested, male sure you dont crash diet too low.

    • bubblegumgymkat July 16, 2010 at 12:44 pm #

      Thanks!! Yeah I got it all straightened out last fall, my thyroid meds and everything were helping sooo much..and now I feel like I am starting all over again. So with my bloodwork hopefully my doc can see if we need to up my dose or try different meds or what. But I go back on Tuesday..so I will keep everyone updated!

Leave a Reply

