Eat Sitting Down, Not standing up!!!

16 Jul

I know many times I have found myself snacking on random things that I do without even knowing. Weather it is at my home in front of the pantry or fridge or walking by a co workers desk and taking a pretzel or piece of candy from the snack jar or even getting free samples at the grocery store. Well those calories can truly add up and hinder your weight loss journey. After reading many dieting/healthy eating books, many of them say time and time again to SIT DOWN!! And if you think about it, it totally makes sense. You will become more aware of what you are eating and actually have an appreciation and enjoy what you eat. When was the last time you actually looked at your food and enjoyed every single bite?? We are usually doing other things when we eat like watching TV or talking to a friend or driving. Next time you eat your next meal look at it, examine it, think of where it came from. For me, let’s say I am eating a salad with yummy veggies and fruit. I like to really look  at it and taste each bit, while thinking how amazing it is that this came from the ground, somebody actually grew this and harvested this food that I am eating right now. This food came from a tiny seed, and now look how beautifully the colors and the taste are, enjoy the texture and crunch. Do it next time you eat, find somewhere quiet or relaxing or beautiful and consciously be aware of your food and what you are actually putting in your mouth…you will have a new appreciation.

See why standing up just doesn’t work!!!! vs. sitting down

Standing up:

-you don’t realize how much you eat, therefore you eat more calories

-you seem to tell yourself subconsciously the calories don’t count when you are standing in the pantry picking and snacking

-you nibble on something out of the fridge when you are reaching for something else-those calories count too

-all calories add up you tell yourself It won’t really matter or count if I eat this even if it’s just a bite

-most eating standing up are impulses, not planned with your diet or what you were suppose to eat for the day

-Seem to give into more temptation

-Try to avoid eating while in the car, walking or running errands. This leads to “unconscious” eating and you will forget how fast and how much you’re consuming

-tend to eat only when you are bored, or from habit or emotion

Eating sitting down:

-These calories count and you can easily monitor what you eat and thus avoid over eating

-Feel more satisfied

-This habit is key to maintaining or losing weight

-you will be more likely to eat slower and really enjoy every bite of your meal

-tend to eat only when it’s time or only when you are hungry

So are you a standing eater or sitting down eater??

11 Responses to “Eat Sitting Down, Not standing up!!!”

  1. Maggie July 16, 2010 at 7:59 pm #

    I’m an in-front-of-the-TV eater. I SO need to stop that!

  2. Laury @thefitnessdish July 16, 2010 at 8:08 pm #

    great post! This is something people do not realize is SO important! I am guilty of standing up only when I am making dinner and I am eating the salad…but chewing, taking your time, and concentrating on your food is CRUCIAL!

  3. kbwood July 16, 2010 at 11:20 pm #

    amen sista!! this is so important!! i feel so much better when i SIT and eat dinner! 🙂

  4. S @ extremebalance.net/blog July 16, 2010 at 11:23 pm #

    Tragically, I have found a way to bring lots of the “stand” factors onto the “sit” list… and that comes down to: “am I sitting in front of my computer / watching a movie / reading”? The second I’ve got something else to focus on, I stop thinking about eating and just go on autopilot until it’s done… and sometimes, I probably didn’t need to eat the whole serving!

  5. julie July 17, 2010 at 1:33 am #

    hey girl! your blog is so fun 🙂 do you love bubblegum as much as i do haha?

    i checked out your recipes and the egg white pizza sounds amazing! i can’t wait to make it 🙂

  6. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) July 17, 2010 at 5:09 am #

    hi Kat, saw April link you! I just did my 1st bikini show in June! So cool that you compete too, I loved looking at your show pics!

  7. Rachel (tea and chocolate) July 17, 2010 at 2:18 pm #

    Really good tips! It makes such a difference to sit down to a meal with family or friends and enjoy the food instead of just mindlessly munching.

  8. Foodie (Fab and Delicious Food) July 17, 2010 at 4:48 pm #

    Yup, I eat when standing sometimes – usually when I’m making my food! I’ll be cutting up fruits or veggies to toss on a salad and will just start munching on them! Usually, though, I’ll just eat less of whatever it is I made, since I’ll already be feeling full. And then I just refrigerate the leftovers. But I do think that when I sit down to eat, I eat a lot slower and it makes for a more relaxing and enjoyable meal!

  9. Erica @ Fashion meets Food July 17, 2010 at 9:53 pm #

    fabulous post! Very informative!

    xo

  10. Sara @ Nourish and Flourish July 18, 2010 at 3:22 pm #

    I am definitely guilty of eating standing up!! In fact, I’m doing it right now! I have a bar counter in my house that I like to use for informal meals, but the stools aren’t very comfortable so I just stand. I usually plate my food though, which makes me more mindful. 🙂 But I agree that you feel more satisfied when you sit!

    Hope you’re having a great weekend!

  11. Fit Chick in the City July 18, 2010 at 6:18 pm #

    I find myself standing up to eat all to often. I also have the habit of eating too fast.

Leave a Reply

