Motivation is what gets you started, habit is what keeps you going!! TIPS

20 Jul

I thought it would be helpful to wright down a list of things that help me each day that keep me motivated, basically everything eventually becomes a habit if you keep it up..so you gotta start somewhere and stick to it.!

1. Clean – yes clean, clean everything out of your house that is unhealthy or that will tempt you. I know this is hard for people with family and kids, but if you can..then get rid of it! If it’s not there then you won’t eat it. If this isn’t possible then have your own cupboard devoted just to your food.

2. Grocery shop – when grocery shopping don’t go down the isles that will tempt you. I mentally have to tell myself not to go down the cereal section (it’s my weakness). If your weakness is the candy or chip isle..don’t even bother!! Make a list and DO NOT go hungry!! Get everything that is on that list and get out of there.

3. Cook – prepare everything and cook ahead. I cook all my food on Sundays and Wednesdays in bulk so I know it will be ready for the days ahead. MAKE TIME I work two jobs and fit in 2 hrs of training on top of it, so I don’t care..make time! There are nights when I am cooking my food at midnight. There are ways to cut time. Cook your chicken in a crockpot and let it cook overnight, cook your sweet potatoes in steam bags, or microwave your eggs..get creative. Buy a crockpot and magic bullet (great inventions).

4. Prepare – After cooking all your meals measure them all out and put them in containers in your fridge ready to go. After all my food is cooked I measure it all out with my kitchen scale and put them in ziploc bags or tupperware containers. The night before I always pack my food for the day. Everything is already measured out so I just throw it in my mini cooler so it is ready to go in the morning. That way you aren’t tempted to eat out or eat something bad at work or wherever.

5. Gallon Jug – I have been doing this ever since I was preparing for my first competition. I buy a new gallon jug each week and take it EVERYWHERE with me. People laugh but oh well, at least I get my 1.5-2 gallons of water in each day. I drink a gallon at work and then refill it with the water cooler and drink another .5-1 gallon for the rest of the day. I try for 2 gallons a day. I am constantly just sipping on it. Ocassionally I will mix a container of crystal light in the gallon and drink it through out the day..but honestly I like just plain water and I try to stay away from sweetners.

6. Condiments – try to get rid of condiments or lean towards a more healthy aproach so you don’t add more calories each day to your diet. Look at the labels and make sure they aren’t chuck full of sugars, carbs and calories. Instead of creamy unhealthy dressings go with balsamic vinegar and a little olive oil. Instead of real ketchup try the no salt or reduced sugar or even better try salsa. Instead of Mayo go for smart balance mayo or light miracle whip. Instead of butter try smart balance butter or spray butter As far as spices and sugar opt for Mrs. Dash to season and splenda to sweeten foods. Many brands make sugar free and fat free condiments so look for those instead of the real thing. If you must have something sweet try sugar free cool whip on sugar free Jello.

7. Get Creative – dieting really isn’t that hard, and once you start dieting..all your healthy food will start tasting amazing (trust me!). I read up alot on the forums and many different websites for recipes and how to spice up your foods. For example oats can get boring so I started adding things to make it intersting. I own every flavor of extract out there from Almond to Orange to Root Beer..I like adding a teaspoon of what ever flavor I am feeling like and two packets of splenda. On my yams I add cinnamon and splenda and spray butter..sooo good! On my brown rice I add splenda, cinnamon, sugar free hazelnut poweder creamer and spray butter (reminds me of rice pudding). In my cottage cheese I blend it in my magic bullet with cocoa powder, little water and splenda (tastes like choc mousse). Or better yet one of my faves cottage cheese or tofu with vanilla protein powder, little water and a packet or True Lime (found in the splenda, baking sugar section) mmmm tastes like key lime pie. You learn to get creative when you diet I also love taking my sweet potatoes and cutting them into fries and baking them and top them off with sea salt or Mrs Dash..dipped in low sugar ketchup mmmmmm. One of my new favorites egg white pancake (you might think I am gross but I love it) I take 3 egg whites, 1/2 scoop of choc or vanilla protein, a little almond, vanilla or coconut extract and cook it into a pancake..topped off with spray butter and sugar free syrup.

8. Journal – write everything down. It helps to trach your day to day diet and workouts. I have an excel spreadsheet and every morning I right down everything from my weight to my workouts to my diet.

9. Motivation – find things that will motivated you. For me it is fitness magazines and motivational quotes. I cut out the pictures in the magazines and post them in random places to remind me that, that’s what I want to look like. I have random quotes posted all over my desk and I read them each day as a constant reminder. For some of you it may be that bikini or skinny jeans you want to fit into, and if so, then place that bikini or jeans somewhere where you will see it everyday and remind you to work harder or eat cleaner.

10. Goals – have goals and write them down. It may be to lose 5-10 lbs or it may be more extreme like enter a figure competition. Whatever it is, write it down and have a plan on how you will get there and a date that you want to reach that goal by.

Basically that is the list that helps me each day achieve what I want. I am not where I want to be but I am definately closer than I was yesterday. I once heard that it takes two weeks to make something a habit and I truly beleive that. If you just eat clean and workout for two weeks it will get easier!!!!

Any tips that you guys want to add???

12 Responses to “Motivation is what gets you started, habit is what keeps you going!! TIPS”

  1. Fit Chick in the City July 20, 2010 at 2:49 pm #

    I find #4 to be the most important for me. I’ve been slacking on this part lately.

  2. Katie July 20, 2010 at 3:19 pm #

    Missed you!!!!!!!!!!!!! Love these tips and LOVE that you drink that much water! I drink alot of water too! I always have to use the restroom!! lol! Lots of water equals lots of restroom runs!

    I also say dont grocery shop hungry!!!! That leads to buying things you shouldnt!

    Have agreat day love! Yes my pup is cute but soooooooooo hyper!!! Did I tell you a million times already I LOVE your blog and you!??!!!

    Muah!

    • bubblegumgymkat July 20, 2010 at 3:54 pm #

      Thanks Girly! Missed you too..glad you are back so I can read your blogs!!!! Yes we are the water queens!! I feel so much better with more water it my body and I retain less water..it flushes everything out!

  3. thecookiemonster July 20, 2010 at 4:12 pm #

    AWESOME post! I agree 100%

  4. april July 20, 2010 at 5:25 pm #

    Oh, I have got to try that brown rice idea!! I love sweet everything!

  5. Kristen (swanky dietitian) July 20, 2010 at 8:09 pm #

    Great tips! I try to prepare as much as I can. It definitely saves time in the long run. Like you, I try to do as much prep on Sunday.
    Thanks for stopping by my blog!

  6. Lisa (bakebikeblog) July 20, 2010 at 9:52 pm #

    What great tips!!!! I like to plan my meals on Sundays for the week which helps avoid those temptations to rely on takeout!!

  7. Laury @thefitnessdish July 20, 2010 at 11:31 pm #

    #2, 3, 4 7, 9 and 10…AMEN…these are ALL great tips though!!

  8. glutenfreemuse July 21, 2010 at 1:24 am #

    I’ve given you an award! Check it out at my blog!

    ~Alyssa

  9. couchpotatoathlete July 21, 2010 at 1:05 pm #

    Great tips! For me, I have to journal my food to keep myself on track. That way I can plan ahead of time or check to see if I’ve had enough veggies or protein for the day.

  10. sunny July 21, 2010 at 11:18 pm #

    hey girl!

    just wanted to pop in here and say that i’ve been lurking your blog and i love all these tips you posted.. and all your hard work def shows because you look awesome. 🙂 just thought i’d let ya know!

Leave a Reply

