My clean eating list

23 Jul

HERE IS MY LIST THAT I USE FOR MY CLEAN EATING

I try to stay within all of these foods because I keep everything low glycemic and keep my blood sugar level all day.

PROTEINS

Boneless, Skinless Chicken Breast

Tuna (water packed), or White Meat Chicken (water packed)

Fish (tilapia, cod, halibut, and on occasion salmon and sea bass)

Shrimp

Extra Lean Ground Beef or Ground Round (92-96%)

Protein Powder

Egg Whites or Eggs

Rib eye Steaks (keep red meat to a minimum)

Top Round Steaks

Flank Steak (best choice because it’s the leanest)

Eye of Round (Cube Meat, Stew Meat, Bottom Round , 96% Lean Ground Round)

Extra Lean Ground turkey, Turkey Breast

Slices or cutlets (fresh meat, not deli cuts)

Tofu

COMPLEX CARBS

Oatmeal (Old Fashioned)

Sweet Potatoes (Yams)

Beans (pinto, black, kidney, chickpeas)

Oat Bran Cereal (watch sugar, less than 6 grams)

Brown Rice

Ezekiel Bread (frozen healthy section of most grocery stores)

Multigrain Hot Cereal Pasta (Whole Wheat, Ezekiel brand)

Rice (jasmine, basmati, Arborio, wild, brown)

Potatoes (red, new potatoes NO regular white)

 Kashi Low Sugar Cereals (less than 6 grams of sugar)

Whole Wheat Pita

Whole Wheat Tortillas (Food for Life brand)

FIBROUS CARBS & VEGETABLES (FRESH FIRST, FROZEN SECOND, CANNED LAST CHOICE)

Green Leafy Lettuce (Green Leaf, Red, Leaf, Romaine)/Bagged Salad

Broccoli

Asparagus

String Beans

Black Beans

Spinach

Bell Peppers

Brussels Sprouts

Cauliflower

Celery

Mushrooms

Pickles (low sodium)

Cabbage

Sprouts

Cucumber

Green or Red Pepper

Onions

Garlic

 Tomatoes

Zucchini

Squash

Spaghetti Squash

Pumpkin

FRUIT (I TRY TO STAY LOW GLYCEMIC)

Berries (blueberries and raspberries)

Lemons or Limes

Melons (not watermelon)

Grapefruit

Apples

Grapes

Oranges

Eat bananas, strawberries, peaches or plums sparingly (lots of natural sugar)

No dried fruits, including raisins (loaded with sugar)

HEALTHY FATS

Natural Style or Organic Peanut Butter

Nut butters

Olive Oil

Coconut Oil

Nuts (raw)

Flaxseed Oil

Avocado

 Smart Balance butter or Mayo

DAIRY & EGGS Low-fat or fat-free cottage cheese

Eggs

Low or Non-Fat Milk (eat dairy only occasionally)

Greek Yogurt

Non-fat yogurt (look for low sugar only)

I am sure I forgot a ton, do you guys follow a list?

13 Responses to “My clean eating list”

  1. couchpotatoathlete July 23, 2010 at 8:31 pm #

    Your list seems pretty similar to mine, except that I don’t eat dairy and I don’t put limits on what fruits to eat (although I try to keep it at 2 servings per day maximum). I love Ezekial brand bread products so much.

    Great list!

  2. Erica @ Fashion meets Food July 23, 2010 at 11:01 pm #

    Wow I love you for posting this. I am trying to limit meat, and go for more of a clean eating list, and this really helped me out a lot. I will definitely be printing it. I really need to work to keep my foods low glycemic.

    xo

  3. Kristen (swanky dietitian) July 24, 2010 at 2:06 am #

    Sounds like a good list to me!
    It still seems like you are including all the basics. I like the concept but I just love my desserts so I don’t know how long I would last. haha.

  4. S @ extremebalance.net/blog July 24, 2010 at 4:21 am #

    Good list! I used to remember the no-fly more easily when it came to low-GI fruits, but I’ve kinda let it slide… I can remember especially no watermelon, no grapes, no pineapple… that pineapple was the heartbreaker!

  5. Katie July 24, 2010 at 1:17 pm #

    Your list is pretty much everything I eat too, except the meat, I dont eat meat, chix sometimes here and there but no red meat!

    I also love almond milk! Staple in my fridge!

    Happy Saturday! xoxo

    • bubblegumgymkat July 24, 2010 at 1:19 pm #

      yeah I eat red meat only once a week if that..and YES Almond milk!! How did I forget..that is my fav!

      • Katie July 24, 2010 at 4:59 pm #

        Yes almond milk is the best!!! Yeah red meat and I dont agree! have not had red meat in like 6 years! yikes! love u!

  6. Jennifer July 24, 2010 at 8:34 pm #

    Girl you rock! I definitely need to incorporate more of those foods in my daily eats. I’m just so picky that it makes it hard! But it’s like my husband says, just because you think you may not like it, doesn’t mean you should completely X it off your list of foods to eat.

  7. thecookiemonster July 24, 2010 at 10:02 pm #

    Pretty much the same for me! Except I eat dried fruit and plenty of banananners 😉

  8. kbwood July 25, 2010 at 2:26 am #

    LOVE this list!! I dont have a list but i basically eat all of these. OSTRICH is a great lean meat too- its leaner than bison or anything else!

  9. April July 25, 2010 at 11:59 am #

    I follow my trainers meal plan…most of the time 😉 I think the bit of unsweetened chocolate I had last night wasn’t on it.

    These days i’m also following whatever my stupid stomach allows.

  10. TheKetchupDiaries July 25, 2010 at 1:08 pm #

    You are so inspiring, girl. I try to incorporate clean foods as much as I can, but I just can’t seem to commit 100%. I’ve read Tosca’s book too and your list looks great. She would be proud 🙂

  11. She-Fit July 25, 2010 at 2:46 pm #

    Great list! I’ve been trying to eat clean lately. Weekends are so hard though.

Leave a Reply

