Updates

4 Aug

 Go to fullsize image

Whoa the last few days/week has been kind of crazy and stressful!! My roommate tells me on Friday she lost her job so she has to move out LOVELY!!! UGH so I have been a little stressed on how to handle the situation. I own my own house and rent out a room, so I HAVE to find someone. A girl came by yesterday and she LOVED the place and she was super cute..so let’s hope it works out. She also has a Siamese cat ooooh I love those cats they are my favorite. I don’t have any animals because I am sooo busy all the time and never home, but I would love to have one around.

On a lighter note. I went to the doctor yesterday for an update and things are looking up!!! Oh yeah!! Last time I went he discussed my blood work and sure enough I was all out of whack. So he put me on some meds to level out some hormones and I cannot tell you how good I feel. Night and day difference. My thyroid is actually getting better and my hormones are getting back to normal. I go back in three weeks..let’s hope it’s good news again.  And to top it off, I lost 10 lbs wooo hooo!! So I am finally back to my weight and bodyfat that I am comfortable with and what I like to maintain.

As for today I have to work ALL day ugh Wednesdays this whole month are going to be CRAZAY!!! I work my full time job 6-2 then I work at the gym 3-9 so I will be gone all day long and won’t get a workout in L

This week I am reading In Defense of Food…all I can say is WOW..LOVE IT!!!! More to come on this topic and this book. I don’t eat alot of processed foods anyway..but I might go on a 30 day challenge to eat only whole foods, nothing packaged, everything made, and grown. Probably here in the future. I will keep you updated.

View Image

 

My workouts have been great so far this week!!!

And guess what I am craving this week..totally crazy..but dried FIGS and DATES. YUMMM I just want to eat a hundred figs in one sitting. I love the seeds in them. Guess what I have never had a fresh real fig..only dried. They don’t sell fresh ones here..I WANT to try one bad! Calimyrna Figs are my favorite!!

View Image

So..

What are you guys craving??

Do you like figs? How do you eat them?

Any stress in your life?

Have you read In Defense of Food? thoughts, comments, etc.?

12 Responses to “Updates”

  1. couchpotatoathlete August 4, 2010 at 2:38 pm #

    I haven’t read In defense of food, although I’d like to.

    Lately I’ve been craving (and eating!) dates dipped in peanut butter. It is so delicious and I don’t think I can buy dates anymore, since I eat so many of them.

    Good luck finding a roomie!

    • bubblegumgymkat August 4, 2010 at 2:39 pm #

      AMEN!! I can eat like 3 cups of dates in one sitting! I must try them in PB mmmm

  2. S August 4, 2010 at 3:15 pm #

    I started the book in the fall, but got busy at work… I noticed my dad has a copy at the “weekend house”, and you’ve inspired me to give it a read!

    I had my first fresh date about 3 weeks ago… maybe it wasn’t totally ripe, but I was a little underwhelmed. I also had dried calmyrna figs for the first time around the same time–they are like CANDY! Yum! And then there’s those scones I was obsessed about for ages… 🙂

    What else–stress? Never! Not me! No denial either, right? 🙂 Have a great day!

  3. Kristen (swanky dietitian) August 4, 2010 at 4:37 pm #

    Sorry to hear about your roommate situation. That is definitely stressful!
    I LOVE figs! We used to have a fig tree at our old house and I could eat so many of them!

  4. melissadishes August 4, 2010 at 6:40 pm #

    I’ve never had a fig, even though my parents have a tree at home! Maybe it’s something I should try, they’ve always scared me for some reason

  5. Megan August 4, 2010 at 7:37 pm #

    Just found your blog and I love it!! I am interested in reading this book I think I’m going to pick it up today!

  6. Mimi August 5, 2010 at 1:53 am #

    Dates with nut butter is AMAZING. Just yeah. Tahini is a great one for dates because of the tanginess.

    Glad to here about your hormones. It’s no fun when they are out of whack…I had my own lady-hell adventures when I got my birth control switched. Talk about a crazy bitcherella! Haha, needless to say, I got on another one.

  7. Jessica @ Fit & Clean August 5, 2010 at 2:10 am #

    I’m getting my hormones checked next week. I’m 37 and started having hot flashes! Plus, I have other symptoms and what not. 😦 Hopefully they can figure it all out!

    I’ve never actually had a fig, though I like to make things with dried dates.

    I haven’t read In Defense of Food, although I’ve heard of it…I was trying to read the China Study but it was like a sleeping pill, everytime I picked it up I fell asleep! I still want to see Food Inc. That is def. on my to-do list!

  8. glutenfreemuse August 5, 2010 at 2:22 am #

    This week, no cravings really! Except today I saw a picture of peanut butter and jelly and I decided I would let myself have one 🙂

    Do you eat much dried fruit? I know you say its a no no, but honestly, it is a really healthy splurge!

    I’m featuring you in one of my upcoming blogs, btw!!

    ~Alyssa

    • bubblegumgymkat August 5, 2010 at 3:49 am #

      YAY I can’t wait to be in the blog!! I think dried fruit is ok..ONLY if you keep it toa minimum!!! And if you dry it yourself or buy it with no added sugars or preservatives

  9. thecookiemonster August 5, 2010 at 3:05 pm #

    I’m happy you’re feeling better!

    Dates have been my OBSESSION lately. I chop them up and put them in my oatmeal when it’s STEAMING hot, and mix it around and let it sit for a few minutes…the dates soften up, and the sweetness goes throughout the whole bowl 😀 And then I stir in cinnamon and sometimes a little peanut butter, and it’s HEAVEN.

  10. Jenny August 6, 2010 at 3:21 am #

    I can’t wait to pick up this book!

Leave a Reply

