30 days

5 Aug

YEP I am doing it!! I am going 30 DAYS without any processed foods!! I honestly don’t eat a lot of processed foods anyway..but there are some foods that I want to try and eliminate for the next 30 days. All my foods are healthy but some things I eat that are processed are: milk, cottage cheese, whole grain breads, whole grain crackers, Boca burgers, tofu, health cereals, health/protein bars, protein shakes, canned tuna, miracle whip,  condiments, etc. You get the gist, all of that is fairly healthy but I want to eat most everything I can in its natural state or for the most part.

 Go to fullsize image

I am not doing this to change my whole lifestyle but I want to try it and see if I can go all whole foods and nothing from a package Also to see how I feel and see if I really even notice a difference. We don’t r

ealize how many foods have additives, sugars, chemicals, preservatives etc.

 View Image

 

Go to fullsize image

Basically I want to eat “real” food!!!! I want to get my fibers, carbs, proteins, fats, and nutrients from whole sources. Eat food that has been grown or raised, not processed or manufactured.

 Go to fullsize image

So I read the book “In Defense of Food” and I LOVED it. It is all common sense on how to eat but I love how he talks about how the Western diet has evolved to what it is today. Such as how many foods have “healthy” claims because they fortified and enhanced with vitamins / nutrients or added fiber or this or that.

 Go to fullsize image

A few guidelines he points out are: 

Don’t eat anything your great grandmother wouldn’t recognize as food. (Or don’t eat anything that doesn’t rot.)

Avoid food products that are predominantly processed, unpronounceable, have more than 5 ingredients or include high fructose corn syrup.

Avoid food products that make health claims.

Shop the peripheries of the supermarket and stay out of the middle.

Eat “real” food

 

The real foods I plan on eating are fruits, vegetables, raw nuts, whole grains and seeds that are in their natural form and have not been processed. My protein I will get mainly from eggs and chicken and a little red meat and fish.

View Image

View Image

Any one else on this bandwagon or something similar?

14 Responses to “30 days”

  1. Katie August 5, 2010 at 7:30 pm #

    MAJOR KUDOS TO U GIRL!!!!!! I know you will make it and reach your goal of eating clean as ever! Yikes! I would miss my yogurt if I had to do this, everything else I really would be ok without I think, except for wraps, love my wraps!

    I cant wait to see what you will be eating, please post your meals!!!!! I have that book and need to finish it, I love it so far, and he is such a wise man!

    xoxo

  2. couchpotatoathlete August 5, 2010 at 8:17 pm #

    Wow- what a great goal!!! It is a great idea and I know you can do it. I can’t wait to read more about how you do. I know I feel better and look better when I eat whole foods — it is the best way to go!

  3. S August 5, 2010 at 9:43 pm #

    No whey protein?? No doubt my grandmother wouldn’t recognise it, but… a summer month without protein ice cream makes me sorta sad!

    Love the idea, though–I’ll be interested to see if, after the 30 days, your tastes have changed enough that you *can’t* go back!

    Oh–and will this be more or less expensive than your usual food expenses?

  4. Healthy Coconut August 5, 2010 at 10:00 pm #

    Good for you! I’ve always wanted to do something like this. I’ll follow your on your journey.

    Just think, it’s only 30 days. You can go back to your old way of eating after a month.

    I did no meat/no dairy for 2 months, it was really good. I went thru detox in the beginning but after that it was easy.

  5. april August 5, 2010 at 10:45 pm #

    I love the idea and am eager to see how it goes for you! I couldn’t give up my beloved whey.. or sf syrup!

  6. Mimi August 6, 2010 at 12:27 am #

    Best of luck! I know you can do it–haha, anyone who buckles down for a fitness contest and doesn’t go batshit right after has the mental fortitude to accomplish anything.

    Out of curiosity, what about no salt added canned tuna/salmon? Haha, just curious.

    DEFINITELY let us know how you feel!

  7. Jessica @ Fit & Clean August 6, 2010 at 1:41 am #

    WOW! Good luck to you! I try to eat clean all of the time…but I do eat processed…cottage cheese, yogurt, etc. I would love to know how you feel after you complete the 30 days…and how hard you think it is. So I am on a similar bandwagon!

  8. Jenny August 6, 2010 at 3:20 am #

    Good luck girl! You can never go wrong with whole foods. Keep us updated!

  9. kbwood August 6, 2010 at 3:31 am #

    AWESOME girl!! cant wait to hear about this!

  10. glutenfreemuse August 7, 2010 at 12:31 am #

    For the most part, I don’t eat many processed foods. I try my best to eat everything without added sugars and use fruit to sweeten anything. If I do use sugars, I try to keep it to raw maple syrup, honey, and agave…I try stevia, but it really doesn’t do it for me…I’d rather not sweeten at all!

    ~Alyssa

  11. Erica @ Fashion meets Food August 7, 2010 at 1:30 am #

    You go girl! Thats tough but very awesome. I definitely want to try this out!

    xo

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Extreme Balance » Blog Archive » My mother is cooler than I am… - August 12, 2010

    […] a preview, though, I was inspired by Kat reading Michael Pollan’s In Defense of Food last week, so I did, too. I’m thinking about […]

  2. Extreme Balance » Blog Archive » Happy New Year! - September 6, 2010

    […] make some real changes to my diet in the direction of organics, health and sustainability… Kat decided to go 1-month process-free a little while ago, and it got me thinking: could […]

Leave a Reply

