Crossfit

7 Sep

So today I did my first crossfit workout with one of my best guy friends I work with. He started this January and has been begging me to try it so I gave in finally. I am not over exagerating but it was the hardest and most intense workout I have ever done in my life!!!! Seriously I thought I was extreme and badass, but I was proven wrong 🙂 I broke my max HR ever 191 HOLY CRAP!!! MY average HR was 155..that is nuts! I burned about 700 calories in an hour. I was shaking when I was done. So after I fueled my body with a yummy blueberry isolate protein shake and then did some abs at my gym.

As far as the bikini comp…..Ooohh I got my suit on hold!! yeah I can’t wait..it’s hot!! I will show you pics when I get it. Now time to get my strutt on and practice my posing. That is one thing I will give myself credit for. I do well on stage. Since I have done so many shows my stage presence really shows. Plus I LOVE it!

My girlfriend is also doing the bikini comp so she asked me to go to the craft store with her to pick some stuff out to add to her suit. Last year I created my own so she knew I could come up with something good. Her suit is kind of a blue snake skin looking material and we are adding some awesome metal accents to it! I am excited that her and I are prepping each other for this show..we are killing it with our workouts and getting creative. Lots of plyo/circuit/explosive moves and less heavy lifting…so we can tone up. I also increased my cardio UGH shoot me!

So that’s it.

Any of you tried Crossfit?

Anyone getting ready for a show?

10 Responses to “Crossfit”

  1. katie September 7, 2010 at 5:33 pm #

    that sounds crazy and hardcore! what is crossfit?

    • bubblegumgymkat September 8, 2010 at 1:12 pm #

      The standard answer is, “It’s an effective fitness program consisting of constantly varied, functional movements executed at high intensity”. This is a good description yet can still leave you wondering “What is CrossFit?”. Phrases like “functional movements”, “intensity”, and “constantly varied” are thrown around all throughout the fitness industry. The terms are broad and have different definitions depending on the person or industry defining them.

  2. April September 7, 2010 at 10:23 pm #

    I haven’t tried crossfit. It look very tough.

    I’m getting ready for a show. Trying to anyway…

  3. thecookiemonster September 8, 2010 at 6:13 pm #

    Can’t wait to see the suit!

    And I love crossfit, I think it’s fun 😀 It gets your heart fuckin’ going too!

  4. Jessica (Fit and Clean) September 9, 2010 at 3:50 pm #

    I HAVE tried Crossfit in the past. I did it at my house, off of the workouts on Crossfit.com. It was really hard, and I work out all of the time. We have a gym near us that does Crossfit and I’ve been trying to get my husband to go. He used to do the workouts at home as well, and one of his friends is a certified trainer.

    I probably won’t ever do a show. I don’t see myself getting up on stage and doing that, plus I know how much work goes into getting ready for a show because I have a friend that did one recently, I believe it was a figure competition. I envy you for getting up on stage! It’s very cool 🙂

  5. Faith Keith September 9, 2010 at 10:08 pm #

    Haha awesome! I have been wanting to try CrossFit! I really should just do it. I’m training for my first show ever! So excited! Just stumbled on your blog via bodybuilding.com, so will look forward to reading more of your posts – would WELCOME any advice you have to offer!

  6. Mimi September 11, 2010 at 1:23 am #

    What little experience I’ve had with Crossfit I’ve totally loved…even as I pondered if I was about to puke my heart out.

    Best of luck with bikini! That must take some excellent tone…what would you say are your top “bikini ready” tips? Haha, I’d take much more stock in what YOU have to say than Shape Magazine.

  7. S @ extremebalance.net/blog September 11, 2010 at 3:03 am #

    There’s no crossfit anywhere near me, or I’d SO be there! Sounds like my kind of workout!

    Here’s a Q for you, though: I’m lifting more than I have in a few years… and I’m wondering if there’s a secret that I don’t know about–how do you apply your eye makeup on days when you train arms? Seriously, I’m messy. 🙂

  8. glutenfreemuse September 13, 2010 at 3:30 am #

    I’ve always wanted to try crossfit, but haven’t gotten around to it yet. It is hard to do when you don’t have a class or a buddy to do it with!

    No shows for me, life is my show 🙂 Maybe one day if I can really get into the lifting portion, I can feel like I am able to do one!

    ~Alyssa

  9. AllieNic September 22, 2010 at 8:55 pm #

    I LOVE Crossfit! I’ve been doing it consistently for about 6 months and it’s worked so much better for me than “traditional” lifting. I actually have abs now…

    I love that it changes everyday, I love the olympic lifting and I love that there are some seriously strong women who crossfit. Beautiful, strong female role-models.

    Have you tried it again since your first time?

    Good luck in your competition!

Leave a Reply

